

## 1. Statement of recognition of Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung Land

"Yarra City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people as the Traditional Owners and true sovereigns of the land now known as Yarra.

We acknowledge their creator spirit Bunjil, their ancestors and their Elders.

We acknowledge the strength and resilience of the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung, who have never ceded sovereignty and retain their strong connections to family, clan and country despite the impacts of European invasion.

We also acknowledge the significant contributions made by other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to life in Yarra.

We pay our respects to Elders from all nations here today—and to their Elders past, present and future."

## 2. Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence

### **Attendance**

#### Councillors

Cr Anab Mohamud Deputy Mayor (Chair in the Mayor's absence)

Cr Michael Glynatsis
Cr Herschel Landes
Cr Amanda Stone
Cr Sophie Wade
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor

### Council staff

#### Chief Executive Officer

Sue Wilkinson Chief Executive Officer

## General Managers

Brooke Colbert Governance, Communications and Customer Experience

Sam Hewett Infrastructure and Environment
Mary Osman City Sustainability and Strategy
Sandra Sanderson Corporate Services (Acting)

#### Governance

Phil De Losa Manager Governance and Integrity

Mel Nikou Governance Officer

## **Apologies**

Cr Edward Crossland Mayor
Cr Claudia Nguyen Councillor
Cr Stephen Jolly Councillor
Cr Bridgid O'Brien Councillor

## 3. Announcements

No announcements were made.

# 4. Declarations of conflict of interest (Councillors and staff)

Cr Glynatsis, Cr Landes, Cr Mohamud, Cr Stone and Cr Wade declared that they had familiarised themself with the matters being presented to this meeting and that they do not have a conflict of interest.

# 5. Council business reports

Item		Page	Res. Page
5.1	Proposed Road Discontinuance on Charlotte Street, Richmond	4	5

# 5.1 Proposed Road Discontinuance on Charlotte Street, Richmond

**Reference** D24/279484

AuthorFadi Fakhoury - Manager Property and LeisureAuthoriserGeneral Manager Infrastructure and Environment

**Disclosure** The authoriser, having made enquiries with members of staff involved in the

preparation of this report, asserts that they are not aware of any general or

material conflicts of interest in relation to the matters presented.

## **RECOMMENDATION** Start time: 6.36pm

That Council:

- (a) notes all written submissions made during the public notice period;
- acknowledges all speakers who have spoken in support of their written submissions; and,
- (c) thanks the community for their submissions and active participation in the road discontinuance process.

## Public Submissions

The following people addressed Council on the matter:

- 1. Christine Maynard;
- 2. Karen Hovenga;
- Catherine Cavedon;
- 4. Nick Koklanos:
- 5. Sharon Harrison on behalf of Steven Mark Harrison;
- 6. Anne Jenkins:
- 7. David Wain;
- 8. Nikolas Dekleris;
- 9. Wojciech Huczek;
- 10. Lynn Delahunty;
- 11. Gareth N. Ward:
- 12. Joseph Harb;
- 13. Marisa Baschuk;
- 14. Cressida Batterham-Wilson;
- 15. Ross Edwards;
- 16. Bill Dekleris;
- 17. Nathaniel Kiwi on behalf of Bridget Kiwi;
- 18. Claire Heaney;
- 19. Emily Stewart;
- 20. Adam Dettrick:
- 21. Dr Sharon Harrison;

- 22. Anne Ballantyne;
- 23. Ian Murray;
- 24. Lisa Loughman;
- 25. Shane David Cargill;
- 26. Colin Jenkins;
- 27. Anne Jenkins speaking on behalf of Olwyn Jones;
- 28. Maylynn Tsoi;
- 29. Hugh Morley;
- 30. Andrew Davies;
- 31. Nathaniel Kiwi; and
- 32. Maylynn Tsoi speaking on behalf of Rebecca Smith.

#### **COUNCIL RESOLUTION**

Moved: Councillor Landes Seconded: Councillor Wade

- 1. That Council:
  - (a) notes all written submissions made during the public notice period;
  - (b) acknowledges all speakers who have spoken in support of their written submissions; and,
  - (c) thanks the community for their submissions and active participation in the road discontinuance process.

#### **CALL FOR A DIVISION**

For: Councillors Glynatsis, Landes, Mohamud, Stone and Wade

Against: Nil

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

Council Meeting Minutes - 6 August 2024						
Conclusion						
The meeting concluded at 8	3.20pm.					
Confirmed Tuesday 13 Aug	ust 2024					
		Mayor				