Hot Topics

Yarra Energy Foundation prepares for a big 2015

16 January 2015

A fresh board of directors has been appointed to continue the trailblazing work of the Yarra Energy Foundation (YEF).

Having already achieved zero net emissions in its own operations, Council is supporting YEF’s goal of the community becoming carbon neutral by 2020.

A new board of directors has recently been appointed to oversee YEF operations for the next two years.

Membership has been drawn from a diverse range of backgrounds, including (but not limited to) environmental science, consumer law, policy development and governance.

Endorsed candidates include:

  • Gerard Brody
  • Peter Christoff
  • Katherine Dean
  • Jenifer Lauber-Patterson
  • Geoff Mabbett
  • Douglas Scott Chapman
  • Eyal Halamish

Council will be represented on the board by:

  • Cr Roberto Colanzi
  • Cr Sam Gaylard
  • Guy Wilson-Browne

Jenifer Lauber-Patterson was appointed as the Chairperson of the board for the next 12 months.

In recent years, YEF has expanded its partnerships in the small business sector, created a commercial solar panel advice service which is free for Yarra businesses, and launched the ambitious Yarra Project Zero Pledge which is open to all community members.

The new board will position YEF to help local organisations realise the commercial and environmental benefits of improved energy efficiency.  

In the coming months, YEF will support and participate in Proud to be Yarra (a local sustainable living festival) and Livewell Yarra (a research project in support of low carbon outcomes). Details on these initiatives will be released shortly.

More information can be found on Council's YEF page or by visiting the YEF website.



Further information:
Jane Waldock
Manager Strategic Transport and Environment
9205 5733

Back to top
Solar panels on the North Carlton Library
Other Hot Topics
Back to top Back to top