Hot Topics

Inspirational Women of Yarra Award Announced

9 March 2016

Alphington’s Anne Crehan and Fitzroy’s Xiao Yue Wang were announced the joint winners of the 2016 Inspirational Women of Yarra Award at yesterday’s International Women’s Day celebration at the Richmond Town Hall. 

The awards ceremony highlighted the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women in Yarra. The 13 nominees (including two group nominations) were a diverse group, representing the economic world, youth leadership programs, multicultural projects and sustainable food.

Mayor Roberto Colanzi said that the nominees for this year’s Inspirational Women of Yarra Awards were selected by a panel for their selfless and ongoing commitment to social causes in Yarra. 'Each of these winners provides an invaluable, and often unsung, contribution to their communities.’

Anne Crehan

‘Alphington-resident, Anne Crehan has been involved in the local kindergarten, the bowls club and the local netball club. She has also been President of the Alphington Primary School Council Parents’ Association and was recently on the committee for the 2015 Wetlands Festival. Anne is also Chairperson of Alphington Community Centre. A quiet achiever, Anne gives her time tirelessly, proving to be a strong role model within the community.’

Xiao Yue Wang

‘Arriving in Melbourne in April 2000, Xiao began volunteering straight away. Dedicated to inclusiveness and diversity, she has been President of the Chinese Tenants Association since 2010 and is known to many in Fitzroy and its surrounds. Xiao is also the inaugural President of the U3A Chinese in Yarra group, where she is dedicated to making accessible learning an enjoyable and inclusive experience for all.’

2016 Inspirational Women of Yarra – Nominees

Anne Crehan (Joint Recipient)
Xiao Yue Wang (Joint Recipient)
Aguer Athian
Rachel Bendall and Jennifer Colbert (Solar Neighbourhoods)
The Chinese Mandarin Friendship Association of Fitzroy
Kim Davis
Nellie Dicks
Margaret Ferla
Anoushka Gungadin
Jacinta Harper
Zena Lythgo
Melanie Maslin
Miranda Sharp

Back to top
Anne Crehan and Xiao Yue Wang
Other Hot Topics
Back to top Back to top